Bountiful Baskets 4/6/2013

In my Bountiful Basket Food Co-Op basket for April 6th, 2013, we got the following:

1 container of strawberries

12 oranges

8 bananas

8 braeburn apples

1 bunch of asparagus

1 head of lettuce

2 bunches of celery

4 zuchinni

1 container of cherry tomatoes

1 box of mushrooms

and about 30 assorted small sweet peppers

 

20130406_091019

 

I’m most excited about the peppers and least excited about the celery. It’s also nice to see cherry tomatoes. All of the above cost $16.50.

 

The bunnies are doing well. I don’t have a picture this week, but they have gotten much bigger. They are starting to get out of the cute bunny stage. I offically sexed them yesterday, and we have 4 boys and 2 girls. They are all healthy and sweet tempered. I’m fairly confident that I’m keeping one of the girls, but I want to see what their weights are before we make that decision. One of the girls looks like the mom and the other one looks like the dad. It will be interesting to see how they change over the next few weeks.

 

I’m digging out half of my spring garden and planting my summer crops today. We are keeping the newly planted bed of salad greens and my bed of swiss chard.  They are both planted close to the house, so they are well shaded from the sun. I hope we can get another month or two of crops from them before they bolt.

From the main garden, we are keeping the spinach, onions, two different kinds of carrots, and bush snap peas. To that, I’m adding watermelon, assorted peppers, green beans, zuchinni, tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, okra, and celery. As soon as I can pull the onions, carrots, and spinach, I’ll be planting cucumbers, pickling cucumbers, melons, and pumpkins. Yummy.

I’ve also got 10-12 strawberry plants. We are getting about 2-3 delicious strawberries a day. Luckily, the birds have left them alone so far.

As for herbs this year, I’m going a little crazy – We’ve got Thyme, Savory Basil, Sweet Basil, Oregano, Parsley, Chocolate Mint, Dill, Rosemary, and Cilantro growing in pots around the yard. I’d like to plant 4-5 times the amount of herbs that I have now, but that’s something that is going to have to wait until after we move.

I know it seems silly to plant such a large garden just a few weeks before we list the house for sale, but gardening has become a part of our lives, and I don’t want to put our lives on hold while we are waiting for someone to put in an offer. Just to be on the safe side though, we are practing our ninja moves, so if someone does buy this house, we can ninja stealth into the backyard and harvest the veggies under the cloak of the moon. (I’m kidding.) (Maybe.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment