Ain’t Nothing But A Hound Dog

This has been a strange two weeks at the homestead. It went by in a blur and I know we’ve been busy, but I don’t feel like we’ve done anything out of the ordinary.

We did get another dog. He is a Transylvanian Hound and based on the research that I’ve done, there are only a few dozen of them in the US. Isn’t he a beauty? His previous owner loved him enough to find another home for him when they realized that they didn’t have enough room for him to run. It’s hard to train a hound dog not to attack our rabbits, and I’m sure we will go through the same thing once we get our chickens. It’s worth it though, this big guy already jumped in front of my big boys to protect them from a snake. He is worth is 88lbs of weight in gold to me right now.

20131027_173937_resized_1

Meet Hugo. That was his name when he came to us, and we decided not to change it.

Our wonderful neighbors also let DH borrow their tractor so he could move some dirt piles around and make a wall of mud to turn into a shooting area in the far back corner of the property. When he was moving the dirt, he noticed a huge buck in the woods. I hope the buck comes back during hunting season. It would be wonderful to fill our freezer with venison.  The LO and I took some long construction paper and made a few dozen targets for shooting practice. Our targets all look like scary monsters with extra feet and arms and multiple eyes. It is important that the teenagers learn gun safety, but I don’t want them shooting at targets that look like people.

20131020_134710_resized

DH moving dirt into the back of his truck so he can cart it to the back of the property.

When we were walking Hugo yesterday around the property line, we found some odd shaped fruits. They smell like citrus and look like large bumpy tennis balls. After a few minutes on Google, I discovered that we have a few Osage orange trees in the tree line along the property line.

osage2

Aren’t they weird looking? Apparently, they are fantastic to use for wind breaks as they grow really fast. They are also touted to be a great form of pest control. In some studies, they have been found to be comparable to DEET. How come I have never heard about this inedible fruit before??!!?

The kids and I picked a few of them so I can try to save their seeds and also try to make a natural insect repellent with their guts. I’m not sure how I’m going to do it yet, but we have a quite a few them to play around with. If I find anything that works well, I’ll make sure to do a post about it.

Leave a Reply

