Closing this week!

I’m still without internet, but I’m borrowing the library’s wifi so I can post a quick update from my phone. We officially close on our land this Thursday. Our suburban lot was a little shy of .17 acres and our new property is a little shy of 71 acres. The math geek in me giggles a little whenever I think of that.

 

It’s costing more than expected to get utilities and septic to the property, so instead of building immediately, DH and I decided to purchase a refurbished double wide to put on the property. It’s nothing fancy, but the square footage is larger than our old place, and the price allows us the ability to save for big ticket items that we want to purchase over the next few years. At some point, we’d like to build, but that can’t happen quite yet. Our only debt is our land, but we’ve had to pull so much money out of savings, that we really need to buff that account back up. We also need to build a shop, a storm shelter, fix a few parts of the fence line, buy some livestock, buy a tractor…… The list is never-ending. But, we will get it all done eventually. We just have to take it very slowly. This endeavor is supposed to enrich our lives, not saddle us down with debt and stress us out. There is plenty to do and I have to remember that it’s worth it to take our time to do things right from the beginning.

 

We walked the property line last week and it took us an hour and a half. It’s only a mile and a quarter around the perimeter, but it hadn’t been walked in a long time, so it took a lot longer than it could have. We had to be very careful in the tall grass. We also stopped many times so we could take pictures and enjoy the views. We didn’t see any snakes, but we did find some wild hog bones. I’m already daydreaming about having a freezer full of wild hog. Bacon, anyone?

 

I really love the property. I wish I could upload pictures from my phone, but wordpress keeps giving me an error message. I’ll just post a copy of the pictures that I already have uploaded. As you can tell, there is a lot of pasture land on this property. What you don’t see here are the wooded areas, the access to a wet weather creek, and the three ponds. I will keep playing around with my phone and I’ll try to get some new pictures uploaded soon.

 

 

20130606_18214720130606_181238

Leave a Reply

