Lazy Day

Today is a lazy day. We don’t get many lazy days around here, so I’m taking advantage of it. I’ve been packing, cleaning, and listening to this free permaculture design pod class.

I’ve listened to half of the “lessons” so far. There are some great ideas in it. There are some things that I don’t agree with, but even the things I don’t agree with are still thought provoking. If you are interested in permaculture, it’s worth a listen.

I got some yummies from the garden yesterday. Look at all this loot!  I harvested all of this around 2pm and it was all gone before we went to bed. Carrots from the backyard are so much better than carrots from the store. They taste carroty and delicious. (No one asked for ranch dressing to dip them in!)

20130608_154446

Not wanting anything to go to waste, we shared the carrot greens with the rabbits and the compost worms. These are the babies that were born on April 14th. I think we have 4 girls and 2 boys this time, but I’ll double check them sometime this week to be sure. (The seventh one died a week after birth. The mom stepped on his head when he was born and he never recovered.)

When rabbits are very young, I sex them by looking at how far apart their “parts” are from their anus. Girl parts are right next to the anus, and boy parts are a fraction of a tiny bit further away. When they get older, you can press on the area outside of the vent, and the sex becomes very obvious –  it looks like boys have straws and girls have oval slits.

20130608_154209

We signed, sealed, and delivered our third offer on property today. The first two properties we liked didn’t pan out; so I’m not going to get excited about this one yet. I am hopeful though. This is in the town and school district I want, it has the acreage DH wants, it’s peaceful, it has great soil, and it’s got a price tag we can afford. If everything works out, this could be my backyard in a few months.

20130606_181238

We should find out more within the next few days. Until then, I’m going to avoid thinking about it and try to make the most of the last lazy day we will have in this house.

Leave a Reply

