Bountiful Baskets April 20, 2013

I can’t believe it’s already Saturday. This week has gone by so quickly. Before I give an update on our suburban homestead, let me show you what we got in our Bountiful Baskets Food Co-Op today.

For fruits – We got 1 container of Blackberries (they are already gone), 6 tomatoes, 7 bananas, 1 melon, and 2 mango The mangoes aren’t in the picture. We put them in the “donate to the fire department” box at our Bountiful Basket pick up site.

20130420_084252

For Veggies, we got 8 peppers, 3 avacado, 7 red potatoes, 1 head of lettuce, 1 head of brocolli, 1 head of a broccolli-cauliflower hybrid, and 2 cucumbers.

20130420_084503

I also picked up a 25 lb box of roma tomatoes for $0.58/pound. On Monday, I’m going to replenish our salsa supply. Yum.

20130420_091743

As for everything else –

The garden has been planted, and almost everything has popped up. It’s hard to see in the picture, but there are dozens of little seedlings in there. (And a few hundred weeds that I’m going to tackle today.) Next week, I’ll spread out a thick layer of mulch. The mulch is going to help keep water in the garden during our hot weather. It will also help keep the weeds at bay. The garden doesn’t look like very large in the picture, but in actuality, it is over 500 square feet.

20130417_141122

The compost piles are getting smaller. It is amazing how quickly we go through compost. We can never get enough of it.

20130417_141149

The rabbits are doing well. Here is a picture of our finished hutch. We have wood in the front and the back of the hutch that can be swung up to protect the bunnies from harsh weather. In bad weather, I usually just throw a towel over the sides of the hutch. After we move, I’m going to make the nesting boxes large enough for the does to actually use. My favorite part of this design is the height. It’s really easy for me to check on everyone and do all of my rabbit chores each day.

Pretty boy is in the far right hutch. Polymorph and her new babies are in the second to the right hutch. The first batch of six babies are in the two hutches on the left. We took the partition out of those two hutches, so the babies have plenty of room to hop around. The entire hutch is 8 feet wide and 3 feet deep. The rabbits also take turns spending a few hours a day in the run.

20130417_141134

Goose (DS 4) loves to build things. He made this little bird feeder at one of the free Home Depot Kid’s Workshops. It makes him so proud to see birds eat from it.

20130417_141215

I made a batch of hard lotion bars. I made the first batch and they were really greasy, so I remelted and added some extra beeswax in this batch. Now they are really sticky. I think I’ll keep remelting them and playing around with the ingredients until I find a ratio that works for what I’m looking for. These were made with Beeswax, Organic Coconut Oil, and Cocoa Butter. The kids hate the scent, but I don’t mind it. I might add some essential oils or some dried herbs at some point. It’s all trial and error, but I’m having fun figuring it out.

20130419_190804

As for the house – I don’t have any picture of it, but I’m still puttering along. I’ve already got a few dozen boxes packed. I still have a giant to-do list, but as of right now, we are on target to list the house for sale within the next month. I’m trying to do just one big project and a few small projects each day. I don’t want to get overwhelmed. Today, we are cleaning all of the windows, weeding the garden, and taking measurements for all of the random things we need to buy at the home improvement store.  Tomorrow, I’ve got to touch up paint around the house, pack up one of the computers, and steam clean the carpets. Baby steps, right? It’s enouraging to know that each baby step is taking us one step closer to our goal of leaving suburbia and moving to the country.

One thought on “Bountiful Baskets April 20, 2013

  1. Please fact-check Bountiful Baskets.
    Bountiful Baskets does not appear to meet the international
    Cooperative Alliance’s Principles of Cooperation.
    Nothing wrong with the buyer’s club business model they operate under.
    However,
    can they verify what they state on their Bountiful Baskets website
    that they are a non-profit? Are they a 501(c)3 or is this just a
    loophole? Can just stating on one’s website qualify them as a
    non-profit without third-party verification?

    Arizona Incorporation papers
    http://starpas.azcc.gov/scripts/cgiip.exe/WService=wsbroker1/names-detail.p?name-id=15466984&type=CORPORATION

    Administratively dissolved.
    Same address as Kodiak Fresh Produce in Phoenix.
    Click through to the scanned documents and review them, see
    how many shares are outstanding for this corporation and who
    the owners are.

    Conservatively guessing a few cents per basket that’s not going
    to cover the cost of the goods, with hundreds of sites and
    probably thousands of baskets, that total dollar amount
    adds up. Who gets that, Kodiak or the founders? According to
    the International Cooperative Alliance any profit would be shared
    with the members or they would decide its distribution. I haven’t
    been able to find or get that information from BB.

    There are weak Cooperative Enterprise Corporate identity laws in
    Arizona.

    There’s nothing wrong with the business model they choose,
    but to believe that no profit is made at their AZ HQ when they rely
    on “volunteers” at their pick-up sites is a stretch.

    Bountiful Baskets have not answered my queries at their website
    about their Co-op status and they delete my posts and banned me from
    their Facebook page.

    I want them to confirm their Co-op identity or stop calling themselves
    a Food Co-op. Google other orgs with Food Co-op in their names
    and confirm that they list or link to the International Cooperative
    Alliance’s identity, definition and principles of Cooperation. I can’t find that
    at BB’s website FAQ or about us.

    Sources for Cooperative Identity verification:
    1. Food Coop Initiative
    2. International Cooperative Alliance
    3. National Cooperative Business Association
    4. National Cooperative Grocers Association
    5. Consumer Cooperative Management Association
    6. Other groups with Food Co-op in their name who
    link to the ICA Principles of Cooperation

Leave a Reply

