Bountiful Baskets 3/30/2013

Here is our bountiful basket order for today, March 30, 2013. We did volunteer this week, and it was nice to be outside this morning.

Here is the picture of the veggies that came in our basket this week.

 

20130330_084734

 

Here are the fruits

 

20130330_085342

 

And here is everything together. This cost me a total of $16.50. This week was most certainly worth it. We had 8 bananas, 1 pineapple, 1 bag of oranges, 8 apples, 1 clamshell of strawberries, 1 head of lettuce, 1 bunch of celery, 2 cucumers, 7 tomatoes, 4 zucchini, and 6 baking potatoes.

 

20130330_085039

 

I also ordered the veggie lovers – Italian themed pack as an additional add on this week. It included a medium sized eggplant, 3 assorted onions, 1 box of mushrooms, garlic, 2 red pepper, 2 green pepper, basil, oregano, and rosemary. It cost an additional $8.00 or $8.50. Last time I made eggplant, it ended up salty and mushy. I hope I can find a good recipe to use this time.

 

20130330_084508

 

All in all, it was a great basket. I’m glad I got a basket this week, but I’m also glad I didn’t get one last week. My spring garden is giving us so many yummy greens. Here is my haul from yesterday. I put the can opener in the picture so you could get a better idea of the amount of food that is here. It’s enough for all 5 of us to have a huge salad tonight. Best of all – this organic produce was grown less than 50 feet from my door – every bite has a little bit of love in it.

 

20130327_152207

 

I’m starting to get a nice little collection of water kefir soda. I’ve currently got 4 quarts on their first ferment. It’s so good. It’s better than any soda. I like adding frozen blackberries to the second ferment. It tastes like a fizzy grape juice. I should write a blog post about water kefir one day. Although, if someone walked into my kitchen right now, they might think I had some weird science experiments going on. I should invest in some vials and freak my parents out the next time they come over for supper.

 

20130327_163419

 

Here is a recent picture of the bunnies. They are 4.5 weeks old. They are currently weaning from their mom. There are only 5 in this picture, since I took the mom out and put her in a different hutch with the 6th kit. The 6th kit was alittle smaller than the others, and she will help give the mom some relief over the next couple of days.  The mom is due in 15 days, and I want her to have 10-14 days to recoup before she has her next litter. Then, she gets a nice long break during the summer.

 

Aren’t the kits getting big? They want to eat all the time. I put them on pasture yesterday for about 20 minutes. Tomorrow, I’ll let them have another 20 minutes in the run. I have to be very careful with these little guys. It’s tempted to think they can eat just like the mom and dad can, but their tummies need to be introduced to new foods slowly. I hope they tolerate grass well, so in a few weeks, I can take some of the sting out of my feed bill this month. Yikes.

 

20130329_092342

 

Have a blessed, safe, and joyous Easter weekend!

4 thoughts on “Bountiful Baskets 3/30/2013

  1. Cute!! What kind of bunnies are they. We are considering a pet rabbit right now and when I asked Aishy about them she told me I had to check out the cute babies on your blog.

    • Yay! Rabbits are so much fun. Make sure you get a male, the girls can be tempermental/territorial. There are some good youtube videos that explain how to sex young rabbits. What breeds are you looking for? Our babies are crosses – the mom is a Californian and the dad is a New Zealand White. They are all REW (Ruby Eyed White Albinos), but three of them have temperature sensitive points (nose, paws, tail, and ears) that change color depending on the weather. Ours are going to be about twice the size of an average rabbit when they are full grown, they are already the size of my hand. The mom and dad weigh about 10 lbs each, they are huge. We’d love to have you guys over if the kids want to play with the babies. They are so entertaining. L and I like to sit outside and watch “Rabbit TV.”

Leave a Reply

