First Week of Spring

 

 

 

I was very tempted to start planting my summer vegetables yesterday, but I’m glad I didn’t. It got down to freezing last night, and it is supposed to be just as cold tonight. Brrrr! I cannot wait for the first homegrown tomato of the season. And summer squash. And watermelon. And sugar snap peas. Yummy.

Rabbits – Look how big they are getting! I can sex them now, but it’s very hard to remember which ones I’ve sexed and which ones I haven’t when I pick them up one at a time. I’m going to separate them within the next few weeks, so I’ll sex them all then. 3 of the 6 have the californian markings on their ponts that change color in cooler weather. The other 3 are pure REW (red eyed white). I might keep one of the does from this littler, and I might try to trade one doe for another doe from a different blood line.

The mom is pregnant again and I’m expecting her to kindle on April 14th. It seems like I’m breeding them really close together, but I have a reason for that. During the hotter months, the bucks become sterile and pregnant does are miserable. We regularly get 100F temperature, and during the hottest part of the summer, we see weather that is closer to 110F. Ideally, Polly will kindle her next litter and have them weaned before it gets too hot. Then she will get a nice long break before we breed her again when the cooler weather starts this fall.

The rabbits are having a great time eating Swiss Chard leaves. The babies aren’t supposed to have any greens quite yet, but that doesn’t stop them from trying. Luckily, the mom is a good mom and she keeps them away from things that aren’t good for them.

20130324_130111

 

We have a couple of realtors coming next week to give us their opinions about the value of the house. I have a laundry list of things to do, but it’s really hard to get motivated. I feel like we are in limbo. I want to pack up everything except the essentials and live as minimalistic as possible while the house is on the market, but at the same time, I’m scared to put our lives on hold while we wait for the house to sell. I have to find a happy medium and it’s hard.

 

Leave a Reply

