Bountiful Baskets 2/2/2013

Here is my bountiful basket order for February 2, 2013. (The groundhog is predicting an early Spring, by the way. Woohoo!)

I was in a bit of a rush, so I didn’t split up the fruits and veggies like I normally do. I did get my usual two baskets. Here are my two baskets together. There were 2 bags of green beans (about 1.5lbs each), 2 heads of cabbage, 2 heads of cauliflower, 2 English cucmber, 3 bunches of radishes, 3 very large sweet potatoes, 16 tomatoes (6 of them were extras, the kids and I each picked out 2 tomatoes as our extras for helping this morning.), 2 bags of fuji apples, 2 clamshells of strawberries, 14 bananas, and 6 Asian pears. All of this produce was $16.50.

 

20130202_080131

 

I also got 2 juice pack add ons. I’ve been enjoying the juice pack add ons. I finally found a beet recipe I like, so I’m happy. (beets, apple, carrots, pear, 1/2 a lemon, and ginger. Yum!) This picture is just 1 of the 2 juice packs I got. They cost $8.00 each. In it, there were 5 blood oranges, 5 fuji apples, 1 large piece of ginger, 3 beets with beet greens, 1 bunch of organic swiss chard, 1 bunch of parsley, 1 bag of carrots, 1 english cucumber, and 1 bunch of celery. This is the first week that my juice add on hasn’t had a bunch of mud in the bag. It was so much easier to clean everything today, although my hands are stained pink from the beets.

 

20130202_080524

 

 

Lastly, I picked up a box of tomatoes. This box weighs 20lbs and cost $12. There is another layer under this top layer. The tomatoes on the bottom layer are a little bit more ripe, but I am still going to have to let them sit for a few days before I can use them. They are going to turn into 9 pints of salsa sometime this week. We were running low, so this add on came at a very nice time. I hope I can make the 9 pints last until tomato season kicks in.

 

20130202_080200

 

 

Leave a Reply

