Bountiful Baskets 1/26/2013

Here is my bountiful basket order for January 26th, 2013. There were lots of goodies today. As usual, I ordered two baskets. I also ordered two juice pack add ons. We volunteered this morning and a few of the volunteers were wondering if the juice pack add on is going to be a regular thing or if it is just going to be available this month. I really hope it’s a regular thing. I’ve gotten addicted to green juice.

 

Here was the fruit portion of our two baskets. We actually ended up with two extra watermelon, but they were extras because we volunteered this morning so I did not include them in the picture. In our baskets, we got 3 pineapple, 12 bananas, 2 personal sized watermelons, 2 containers of strawberries, 8 lemons, and 10 pears. Strange to think that I could be sipping lemonade and eating watermelon in the middle of January… What an odd year this has been for produce.

 

20130126_091733

 

For veggies, I gave up a green pepper since we were short at our site. I ended up with 2 stalks of celery, 3 green peppers, 2 bags of potatoes, 8 onions, and 12 tomatoes that are begging me to turn them into salsa.

 

20130126_092213

 

Here are my two baskets together. All of this was just $31.50.

 

20130126_092036

 

I also got two juice pack add ons. Each one cost $8.00. They were both the same, and came in their own bags. I only took a picture of one of them to give you a better idea of what I get for an extra $8.  There is 1 bunch of parsley, 1 bag of carrots, 1 bunch celery, 6 blood oranges, 3 small pieces of ginger (the other bag had 1 large piece of ginger), 6 apples, 3 beets with attached beet greens, 1 cucumber, and some organic swiss chard.

20130126_094630

So, what to I do with it all?

Here is what I did as soon as I got all of this produce home…

Cut up pineapples and put them in dehydrater.

Made myself a glass of green juice.

Made 4 freezer bags full of chopped mixed veggies for soups, stews, or stir fry this week. (Cut up carrots, onions, celery, and green peppers.)

Cut up and washed strawberries.

Peeled and cut carrots.

Cut celery

Washed everything – it saves me time in the long run even if it takes awhile to dry everything before I can store it.

Put of bag of edilbles together for the rabbits (celery greens, beet greens, parsley stems, carrot ends, ect..)

 

It took me a little longer than usual today since there was so much to chop. I spend about 90 minutes in the kitchen, but it will save me over double that this week.

 

Here is our tentative dinner menu for the week, if you are curious.

Homemade pizza with homemade garlic breadsticks

Spaghetti with meatballs & a garden tomato sauce (anything I add lots of veggies too, I call a “garden” version..)

Breakfast for dinner – garden eggs, ham, and hashbrown burritos

Lentil Stew with dumplings

Asian Stir Fry with fried rice

Salmon patties with carrot slaw

Mexican – Meat, bean, and cheese burritos with guac and homemade salsa

 

My men are spoiled rotten. 😉

 

But! I’m spoiled too. Look what Dh did for me last Tuesday. That’s him out there, in the hat. Working in the garden. Huzzah! It was 75F degrees this week. I think it will be cold again at some point, but he got out there and tilled up the garden for me. See that pile of cardboard on the left hand side of the picture? Yea…. We were hoping it would disinegrate and make a nice layer of topsoil for us. It didn’t happen. It did a great job of keeping the weeds out though. And, it will make nice mulch for the walkways and around the plants that sprout.

 

20130122_140535

 

Here was my contribution to this pre-garden work. I took a picture so I could make sure that my hard work was recognized as well… 😉  I bought some more heirloom seeds, but I’m trying to use up all of the seeds I bought last year before I switch to 100% heirloom. If you look at my sheet, you will notice how organized I am. The number inside each rectangle is the average days til maturity for each seed. I’m a hardcore oragnizer like that. (I know it’s a terribly crude method, but whatever. It works for me.)

 

20130124_123444

The best part? We planted everything last Thursday (1/24/13). We might have gotten out there a little too early, but everything we planted is cold hardy and the suggested plant date is 1-4 weeks before the last frost. If we have to replant things, I’m okay with that, but we might not be in this house much longer and I don’t want to wait to get started. I’m really sore. I forgot how much work it is to bend and plant and bend and weed and bend and bend and bend and seed. (Har har har.) I’m happy though. I can feel Spring in the air, and with it, the changes and promises of new beginnings. Life is so good.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bountiful Baskets 1/26/2013

Leave a Reply

