Bountiful Baskets 1/19/2013

Here is my bountiful basket order for December 19, 2013! As usual, we ordered 2 baskets again.

 

Here is what was included in the fruit portion of our 2 baskets. There are 2 containers of strawberries, 3 lemons, 8 granny smith apples, 8 navel oranges, 2 pineapples, and 16 bananas. I’m very glad that there was no grapefruit this week – I’m not a big grapefruit fan, and I’ve had about all I can handle over the last few weeks. I’m on the fence about the pineapple. I was getting sick of it last month, but I’m excited to try to dehydrate it this week. It should be an interesting experiment.

20130119_104020

 

Here is the veggie portion of our two baskets. There were some interesting choices in it this week. There were 2 five pound bags of potatoes, 6 avacados, 6 onions, about 20 red peppers, and 2 bunches of salad savoy. The salad savoy is interesting. One of them is green and white and the other is purple and green. They both taste the same, sort of like cabbage. You can add the greens as is, or you can cook them – they are very versatile.

 

20130119_104039

 

Here is a picture of my two baskets together.  Some of the avacados were a little squishy, but I’m making guac later and I doubt anyone will even notice….

 

20130119_104003

 

Bountiful Baskets also had juice packs again this week. I finished the two from last week, so I bought two more this week. It’s been nice to have yummy green juices every day. I feel a little spoiled, especially since it’s still technically the middle of winter. Yum. I bought two juice pack add ons, but I only took a picture of one of them. They had the same ingredients in them and I didn’t want to be redundant. In each pack, there was 1 english cucumber, 1 bunch celery, 4 beets with beet greens, 1 bag of carrots, 6 key lines, 1 bunch parsley, 1 lemon, 1 piece ginger, and 5 apples. I had 1 bad apple in each bag – they went to the compost before I took this picture. Everything else seemed great – there was a little mud in each pack, so it took a couple of minutes to get everything cleaned off. Not a big deal, but it is a good reminder to me that I have to keep cleaning  everything the day I bring it home.

 

20130119_111706

 

On Friday, my Mom/canning partner came over and we canned apples! We started with 40lbs of fuji apples and ended up with lots of yummy apple slices. I hate wasting the cores and peels, so I put everything that was leftover in my juicer. We ended up with enough juice to also make some apple jelly.  I wish I had my juicer the last time we canned apples, the apple jelly is amazing. Here is the result of our labor —  12 quarts and 2 pints of apple rings in a light syrup and 5 pints of apple jelly. We also made about 2 quarts worth of dehydrated apples (not shown). Doesn’t the apple jelly look delicious?

 

20130118_172335 20130119_070145

 

Leave a Reply

