Bountiful Baskets 1/12/2013

My first Bountiful Basket food co-op order of 2013 was picked up yesterday, January 12th! My parents graciously picked up my order for me, since I had to get my oldest twin to a band event early in the morning. I took all of the pictures at my parents house, I love how well their white counters work as a background for the bright and colorful produce.

 

Here is the fruit from my one lonely basket. I usually get 2 baskets, but I ordered a few add ons this week, so I decided to only get 1 basket. In the fruit part of my 1 basket, there were 4 oroblancos, 7 fuji apples, 1 container of strawberries, 4 bananas, and 8 navel oranges.

20130112_094507

 

Here are the veggies that were included in my 1 basket.  There were 2 avacados, 1 pint of cherry tomatoes, 2 bunches of celery, a few handfuls of small peppers, a few handfuls of brussel sprouts, and 10 rainbox carrots. All of the fruits in the above picture and the vegetables in the picture below cost me just $15.00. I’m most excited about the little peppers. I love snacking on them. Yummy.

 

20130112_094838

 

I also picked up three different add ons this week, the first add on was the lunch box fruit pack add on. It cost an additional $10.50. I’m not entirely sure it was worth it, but the kids love to snack on fruit – and I haven’t been able to get a co-op box for three weeks, so it’s nice to restock. There were 2 pomegranates, 4 granny smith apples, 4 fuji apples, 5 red bartlett pears, 8 navel oranges, and 3 tangelos. There was a 4th tangelo, but my 3 year old ate it before I could take the picture.

 

20130112_095332

 

Along with the extra fruit, I also ordered 2 juice pack add ons. These add ons were created for people who are into juicing. I just got a juicer not too long ago, so I decided to get 2 of these add ons so I could play around with different green juice recipes. The juicing add on was only $8.00 per pack. This was most certainly worth it. Included in each add on, there were a 1 lb bag of carrots, 1 bunch of kale, 1 cucumber, 5 fiji apples, 1 piece of ginger, 2 fist sized beets, 1 bag of spinach, 1 bunch of celery, 1 lemon, and 2 key limes.

 

20130112_095814

 

The second juice add on was pretty much the same thing, I took a picture of it anyways. You have to look fairly close to see the differences between the two. I’m looking forward to a glass of fresh green juice every day this week. I made a green juice today with cucumber, celery, kale, carrots, ginger, lemon, and an apple.  It smelled pretty disgusting, but after the first sip – I couldn’t put it down. I think my body was craving all of the vitamins.

 

20130112_095555

 

All of the above only cost me $41.50. It’s a pretty good deal for the amount of produce and the variety of it. I’m a little disappointed by the lunch box add on, I think I could get fruit at the farmer’s market for cheaper. I’m very happy with the juicing add on. That was a pleasant surprise. I’m looking forward to finding out what comes in my box next week.

 

Leave a Reply

