Jam and Ham

Yesterday, I was out and about with my Mom. We happened to find a great deal on blueberries, blackberries, and cooked ham. Today, my Mom came over and we spent most of the day in the kitchen. We ended up canning 18 half pints of blackberry jam, 6 pints of blackberry jam, 10 half pints of blueberry jam, 8 pints of light sugar blueberry jam, and 19 pints of canned ham. We also dehydrated 12 pints of blueberries (3 pints were used to make 2 dozen blueberry pancake muffins for breakfast for the next couple of days), and prepped 6 freezer bags full of washed fruit to snack on or juice throughout the next few days. Some people think that canned meat looks odd, but I love the look of home canned foods. You can almost see the love that went into every jar.

hamjam

There are a few things missing from those pictures, but it gives you an idea of how much we canned. I take the bands off of the jars once the lids seal, that is why there is a pile of them in the right hand corner of the second picture.

We did 6 batches in the water bath canner and 2 batches in the pressure canner. This was my first time using my pressure canner. I was very nervous to can meat, but it was much easier than I was expecting.

My mom took home an assortment of goodies, and she has an open invitation to “shop” my pantry whenever she wants. I just need to find room in my pantry to fit everything. But not tonight. Tonight, I’m going to make a cup of hot tea and finish my library book. My feet hurt. My back hurts. My fingers are stained purple. But, I don’t even care. It was so worth it.

2 thoughts on “Jam and Ham

Leave a Reply

