Happy New Year!

Quick 2012 recap –

 

There was quite a bit that happened in 2012.

-We decided to move to the country

-My DH had his second knee surgery

-We had to live at a hotel for a couple of months after our greywater/sewage lines backed up.

-We slowly got our house back in order.

-I started eating meat after being a vegetarian for 7 years.

– I canned with a waterbath canner for the first time and made blackberry, blueberry, and strawberry jam as well as applesauce and salsa.

– We started a garden in the backyard and grew strawberries, tomatoes, cucumbers, okra, green peppers, corn, zuchinni, spinach, sugar snap peas, green beans, canteloupe, and watermelon.

-We built a hutch and bought our trio of rabbits (the girls are (hopefully) pregnant and due in a few days).

-We started a compost pile. Our original 5 gallon bucket of compost turned into 32 square feet of space in the corner of our backyard.

-We got our compost worms. (I hope they are still alive, I’ve been feeding them and they are eating, but it’s been too cold to check on them.)

-I got stocked up on my homesteading kitchen supplies (homemade solar cooker, water bath canner, blender, pressure canner, dehydrator, juicer). Only the canners are necessary, but the others sure do make my life easier when I’m preparing and storing food for my family of guys.

-I made yogurt.

-I found a great bread recipe that we bake 1-2 times a week.

-my sister had a baby girl and her 1.5 year old became a big brother.

– I started this blog.

-I found a great food co-op and started utilizing it regularly.

-we remodeled the bathroom

-we painted two bedrooms

-we scraped popcorn off of the ceiling in all of the bedrooms.

-we replaced the soffit outside the house, and painted it.

 

Our 2012 was pretty busy, and there was a lot of unexpected things that cropped up. I hope this year is a little more relaxed. Somehow I doubt it. Our biggest goal for 2013 is to move from our suburban home to acreage in the country!  Now that we are starting to financially recover from all of the chaos of the past year, we have decided to talk to a realtor and put the house on the market this spring. I’m trying not to get too excited about it, because there are always unexpected things that arise when we least expect it, and it might take quite awhile for our house to sell. It’s just reassuring to know we are working our way down the path that we feel is best for our lives.

 

I made my 2013 homestead goals fairly simple. All of these goals just dive a little deeper into the things we’ve been doing this past year.

-Make cheese

-Make kefir

-Make soap

-Make candles

-Dehydrate beef jerky

-Can all of our fruits and veggies for the year with in season produce either grown in our garden or bought locally in bulk

-Landscape with edible plants.

-Process rabbits.

-Plant fruit and nut trees

-Buy meat in bulk from a local farmer

-Cancel cable

 

The hardest goal that I made is going to be canning all of our fruits and veggies for the year. Yikes! I might have to go to the Dallas Farmers Market and shop their bulk shed in order to make it happen. I’m going to do my best though, that is all I can ask of myself.

Do you have any goals for 2013?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

