Bountiful Baskets 11/10/12

Here is our bountiful basket order for November 10th, 2012. We got a ton of stuff this week. This is the first week I’ve felt a little overwhelmed with produce. I ordered the hostess pack add on, which was way more food than I was expecting, but I’ll get to that in a minute.

Here is the vegetable portion of our baskets. We got two baskets this week. This picture includes the vegetables from both baskets. There is 2 bags of organic romaine hearts, 4 one pound bags of carrots, 2 stalks of celery, 8 sweet corn, 8 baking potatoes, and 14 tomatoes.

Here is the fruit portion of our two baskets. There were 16 bananas, 2 pineapple (these pineapple look much nicer than the ones in previous weeks – the last few looked pale and tasted slimy – these look great and smell divine), 2 melon, 2 watermelon, and 10 oranges. It’s so strange for me to see fresh watermelon and fresh oranges at the same time. I’m not going to complain, I love them both.

Here is the picture of the two baskets put together. All of this was just $30. I really love our co-op.  It looks like a lot, but it’s manageable for us. Whatever we can’t eat, we send to our neighbor who brings us tortillas and other Mexican yummies from her kitchen.  Our leftover veggie and fruit scraps go to the rabbits, the worms, or the compost pile. It’s a win-win-win-win-win situation.

This week, I saw a ‘Hostess Pack’ add on. I had no idea what that was, but I’d like to try all of the add-ons at least once. This cost an extra $15. It’s supposed to help round out the Thanksgiving table. There is 1 large leafy head of salad greens, 5 baking potatoes, 7 sweet potatoes, 1 acorn squash, 2 small pumpkins, 1 twelve oz bag of fresh cranberries, 5 granny smth apples, 1 bag of snapped green beans, 1 pint of cherry tomatoes, 3 yellon onions, and 4 small indian corn.

As soon as we got home from our morning errands, I started chopping, cleaning and storing everything. Today, it took me about an hour and a half to get through it all. It would have taken me less time, but I took all of the little kernals out of the indian corn so we can make popcorn with them later this week. I also peeled all four pounds of carrots.

Out of everything we got, there was one bad cherry tomato (there is always 1 bad cherry tomato in these little containers), and 1 slimy, weird carrot that I threw in the compost. Everything else looks good, and now my kids have tons of healthy, ready to eat snacks in the fridge. The 3 yo is bummed that there were no grapes this week, but I think he will get over it as soon as we cut open the watermelon.

Leave a Reply

