Bountiful Baskets 10/20/12

Here is our bountiful baskets haul from October 20th, 2012. We showed up at 6:45am to volunteer today, and then found out that the truck was running 90 minutes late. Needless to say, we came home, ate breakfast, then went back up there. It was fun to volunteer and I think we will be doing it again. The people at our pick up are great.

I picked up two baskets this week. There was a lot of stuff, as usual. When you volunteer, you can pick out one large or two small extra fruits or veggies to take home. We ended up with some extra grapes. I did not add those to my pictures.

Here are the veggies. In our two baskets, we got 2 small bunches of kale, 2 heads of salad greens, 2 pints of cherry tomatoes, 2 stalks of celery, 8 yellow onions, and 6 acorn squash. I still have 2 acorn squash left over from last week – so I need to find a good recipe for them this week. I might try to make a squash raviolli. Yum.

Here are the fruits we got from our two baskets. There are 2 pineapples, 10 bananas, 2 bags of seedless grapes, 6 pear apples, and 6 pomegranates. I love pomegranates, but I’m not sure what to do with six of them. I guess I’ll prep one or two of them and keep them in the fridge for snacking. If you cut them into small sections and add them to ice water, they are very easy to prepare. The pineapples from last week weren’t very good – so I hope that these are better.

Here is the picture of everything together (minus the extras we got for volunteering).  There was one bad tomato in each container, but everything else looked great.

Leave a Reply

