Bountiful Baskets 10/13/12

Here is my bountiful basket order from today, October 13th, 2012. They changed the pick up time again. It went from 10:45am to 7:00am and today it was 7:45am. Last week I only got one basket and the five of us had finished it by Thursday. This week, I decided to get two baskets. I also got a Veggie Lovers Pack – Asian Theme add on. The baskets were $15 each and the add on was $9. There is a $1.50 processing fee, so my total was $40.50.

Here is the vegetables from both baskets. There are 2 pints of cherry tomatoes, 2 stalks of celery, 2 bunches of salad greens, 14 baking potatoes, and 2 acorn squash.

Here is the fruit portion from my two baskets. There are 2 pineapples, 18 bananas, 2 bags of seedless grapes, 6 lemons, 6 pear-apples, and 14 itty bitty pears.

Here is the fruit and veggies together. This is from two baskets, which cost me $30. I think I got a pretty good deal. I sorted everything out and there was 1 moldy tomato, 1 baking potato that had a nasty gash on it, and a few grapes that have seen better days. Everything else looked great.

Here is that Veggie Lovers Pack – Asian Theme add on that I added to my bountiful basket order. It cost $9. I was very excited to see water chestnuts. In fact, they were the first thing I chopped up today. (I’m storing them in a tupperware filled with water.) Doesn’t everything look yummy? There is Napa Cabbage, Bok Choy, another stalk of celery, green onions, 1 yellow onion, garlic, 9 water chestnuts, sugar snap peas, fresh basil, and fresh ginger. The basil and ginger smell so good.

I think I am going to volunteer next week with the twin 13 year olds and the 3 year old. They won’t let kids under 12 touch produce, but the site coordinator assured me that they have plenty of things for smaller kids to do. I’m looking forward to it, I just hope they don’t change the pick up time to 7:00am again.

Leave a Reply

