The Land Hunt Update

We’ve been searching for land, and we haven’t found anything that’s called to us yet. There are a lot of great properties out there, but most of them don’t come with mineral rights. I don’t plan on ever drilling for oil on our property, but I want to make sure that no one else can either.

So, the land hunt is temporarily on hold.  Instead of listing our current house this month, we are going to wait until the spring. I hope that the house prices in our area will have rebounded a little by then.

In the meantime, I am going to use this extra time to practice more homesteading skills. I’d like to make soap, candles, and cheese, set up a clothesline, buy and use a pressure canner for vegetable storage, continue working towards a real food diet, start a rain catchment system, buy a quarter cow, and get a few rabbits.

I’m a little bummed, but I’ve got to remember to have paitence. The journey is part of the process, and even though I’d love to rush it, I think that if I rushed it, I would miss out on a big part of the adventure. Besides – homesteading isn’t found in the land, it’s found in the heart.

Leave a Reply

