Bountiful Baskets 9/29/12

This week has been crazy! On Monday, My mom and I canned 150 apples. We ended up with 20 quarts worth of applesauce, apple rings, and apple pie filling. I hope it is delicious, but I’ve been too sick of apples to try any of it yet. I packed the apple rings too tightly, and I lost almost half of the simple syrup in the water bath process. so I ended up storing those in the freezer. I’ve read that they will be fine in the pantry, as long as they sealed, but it made me really nervous, and I’d rather be safe than sorry. Next time I pack fruit, I need to make sure to pack it without crushing it.

I picked up my fruit and vegetable baskets from Bountiful Baskets today.  On the website, it suggests that families that have more than 4 members should buy more than one basket. I bought two this week, and we are swimming in fruits and veggies. Here is my double order, it was only $30 for all of these fruit and veggies. I apologize for the poor picture quality. It’s raining and dreary outside, so I couldn’t get any natural light in the house.

Here is a closeup of the veggies. I ended up with three bunches of salad greens, two bunches of spinach, two bunches of collard greens, two avacados, three bunches of brocolli, and eight tomatoes. I had to run to the store and buy carrots and onions this week, hopefully we will get some of those items in our basket next week. I was a little bummed that there were no potatoes, as I was expecting some, but we still have a few sweet potatoes left over from last week, so we will make do.

Here is a closeup of the fruit portion of the basket. Between the two baskets, I ended up with two melons, two lbs of strawberries, sixteen bananas, ten red pears, and ten apples. I cleaned the strawberries, and a few of them were moldy, but I think I salvaged most of them. I am flash freezing half of them, and I might dehydrate the other half if the temperature gets low enough to keep the oven on overnight.

I’m a glutten for punishment, and I ordered some tomatoes to can this week. Aren’t they pretty? There were 50 tomatoes in my 20lb box. It was an add on that cost $12. I’m not going to have to buy tomato sauce for awhile.

I’m so happy that my house is almost back together. My kitchen is working, and I was able to do something I haven’t done in at least two months. Bake Bread!!!! My kids are addicted to Amish White Bread. I try to make it a little healthier by using coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, I replace half of the flour with wheat flour, and I use local raw honey instead of sugar. Homemade bread is so much better than any store bread out there. This is an older picture, but the loaves I made this week look just as nice.

This week, we are going to get the soil ready so we can start planting our fall garden. Our first frost date is towards the end of October, so I might be pushing my luck by starting so late. It never hurts to try, right?

Leave a Reply

