Hall Bathroom Renovation

First of all – we are back in our house! Yay! I don’t think it will be completed for another week, but it’s nice to be home (even if we are still missing a kitchen, dining room, and living room).

Secondly, I was going through some pictures I took of our hall bathroom renovation a few months ago, and I thought I would share. My hubby is a mechanic by trade, but he went to school for construction and he is very handy around the house. That’s a great thing, since our house still needs a lot of work. I don’t have a before shot of the bathroom, but there was a lot wrong with it. The drywall was two layers deep, the ceiling was not supported correctly, the fan had stopped working, the plumbing to the bathtub was broken, and the entire thing was a mess.

When we took down the drywall, half of the ceiling fell down. We had to insert a few extra supports. We bought mold resistant drywall and redrywalled the walls. We spent too many hours playing around with texture paint to make the walls match the other half of the bathroom that we didn’t touch. It took us about three days to finish it. I think it turned out pretty nice, and it only cost us about $400. It would have cost us less than that, but we had to replace the insulation that fell from the attic as we were working. The last picture is the end result, I’ve done a few finishing touches since then, but it gives you a good idea of what it looks like now.

 

 

This house drive me crazy some times, but I sure am learning a lot of skills by working on it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

