School Days

That is not our hotel room, but ours looks very similar to that – if you add a few dozen books on the nightstand and take away the slinky pink thing from the bed. It has two identical bedrooms with restrooms, a living room, and a small kitchen. It’s not big, but it works.

Needless to say, our house is still not finished. There has been quite a few holdups, but progress is slowly being made. The hotel has been fun, although we are all tired of eating out and I’m going a little stir crazy without having anything to do.

My twins, 13, started 8th grade today. When I pulled up to the school, there were dozens of 6th graders that were starting their middle school adventure. It was easy to pick them out, they all had the same scared, shell-shocked look in their eyes. I’m sure that I am going to have that exact same look next year when I drop my boys off for their first day of high school. Eeep!

My sister had a bouncy baby girl on August 8th. She was only 34 weeks, but the baby was 5lbs 10oz and only had to stay in NICU for 3 days. I’m going to fly to Maryland in a few weeks to visit them – I cannot wait. I love my sister and I want to spend time getting to know her kids better.

There isn’t much new going on the home sale front. I think we’ve picked a realtor, we are just waiting for the house to get finished, so I can start cleaning and packing. We are slowly getting all of the painting done around the house. We just have two rooms left. I’m hopeful that I can get both of them finished this week.

We still don’t know where we are going to move, but we took a road trip last week and discovered quite a few small towns an hour and a half north east of us. As we were driving up there, I felt like I was going home. It was a great feeling. I think we are going to concentrate our search in that area.

I really like having a plan, so it’s driving me a little crazy that everything is so up in the air. I’m not sure we have enough saved to be able to move without having to take on a mortgage. I’m not sure we can sell our house without owing money on it. I’m not sure about much of anything, but I’m not going to worry. I’m throwing it up to God and letting it go. His plan is always better than mine anyways, even if I don’t always see it right away.

Leave a Reply

