Hotel Living

When the plumbers opened up the floor to fix the greywater leak, they found that the bottom half of the pipe was completely corroded. They had to replace the pipe all the way from one side of the house to the connection underneath the bathrooms on the other side of the house.

It also turned out that our house was a stage 3 flood area. That is the worst stage in flood talk. It means that we have had standing water for over a week. Apparently sewage/greywater had backed up between the flooring and the water barrier. It also seeped into the drywall and the bottom cabinets in the kitchen. They set up fans and it took about 5 days to dry everything up.

Our kitchen is pretty much gutted. We need new floors. We need new baseboards. We need new drywall. We need one outside wall of our house replaced. We have a special cabinet maker that is going to try to replicate the top cabinets so we don’t need to replace all of the cabinets. I hope he can match them, I really like our cabinets.

In the process of gutting the kitchen, they’ve also discovered that there is a section of old tile that had asbestos used to glue it to the slab. So, we have a special team coming to remove the asbestos sometime this week.

I’m so grateful for insurance! I am scared they are going to drop us after this claim, but they are really taking very good care of us. (State Farm, if anyone is wondering.)

We’ve been set up in a nice apartment style hotel. We’ve been there over two weeks already. There is an all you can eat breakfast every morning. I have unlimited coffee. We have a weight room, a pool, a basketball court, and we’ve met a few nice families that are visiting the area on vacation. I’m trying to think of it as a mini stay-cation.

It’s very nice to have someone come in when we are out at lunch, and make all of the beds and take out the trash for us. I wouldn’t want it to happen all of the time, but it’s a nice temporary perk.

I do have to admit though – I am ridiculously tired of eating out. I miss my homemade bread. I miss trying new recipes. I miss cleaning pancake batter out of the kitchen sink. The kids keep comparing everything they eat to what I can make.  I usually win. Yay.

I’m hoping that we will be back in our house within the week, although the general contractor doesn’t think we will have the kitchen and flooring done until the end of August. The kids start school August 27th, so that could be a little difficult.

On a more personal note – my sister’s water broke two and a half days ago! She is due September 19th, so she is only 33.5 weeks pregnant. This is her second baby, and the first girl for either of us. They are going to deliver on Wednesday as long as the baby’s heartrate stays steady until then. She will be 34 weeks. They live across the country from me, so I won’t be able to see them for a few more months, but I’m still so excited and nervous for them. I hope that my little niece is born without any difficulties and that my sister gets some rest and finds comfort and peace throughout this birth experience.

When my sister and I were little, we would fight like cats and dogs. My mom used to tell us to be nice to each other, since when we got older, we would become each other’s best friend.

She was right.

Leave a Reply

