Decluttering

The five of us live in a 1250 sq foot house. We’ve lived here since October of 1998. I am constantly decluttering, rearranging, and making our space work for us. It might seem small, but it’s worked well.

I don’t like clutter. I can’t stand the idea of having knick knacks everywhere. It took me awhile to get used to seeing a picture hung on the wall. I’m not sure if I have a decorating style, but I do know what I like. I like Simple. Rustic. Interesting. Quiet. Peaceful. Homey. Comfortable. That doesn’t mean boring.

I love color, texture, and shapes. I love the look of exposed brick, antique wood, and textured pillows. I love couches that you can sink in to and handmade quilts you can cuddle up under. I love the hanging light in our entry way that looks like a lantern from a ship. I can’t stand frilly window coverings and smelly candles give me a headache.

Not everyone shares my tastes though, so I have to depersonalize our house before we can sell it. I need to paint over all of the colors on my walls. I need to pack up the pictures of the kids. I need to copy and then paint over the measurements I’ve taken of the kid’s in the laundry room. I need to patch a few nail holes, and recaulk a few sinks.

I’m trying not to get overwhelmed with the amount of work I need to do. It really isn’t too much if I break it down into steps; but, if I don’t get started on it soon, I won’t give myself enough time to do it right. I’ve procrastinated long enough.

I think I’ll just take one room at a time and go through the house until I’m done. That should allow me to finish in time to put the house on the market in mid-September.

One room at a time won’t be that hard, right? I’m more worried about the budget than I am about the work. I’m trying hard to make our finances work for this move. I really want to be able to pay cash for our future acreage (*praying and crossing fingers*), so I’m going to have to really crunch numbers before I let myself dip into our savings account.

I think I will start with something simple – the closet in the entryway counts as a room, right??

Leave a Reply

