On the Needles

I was taught to crochet as a young girl, and I’ve completed a few crochet projects as a child. I’ve long since forgot that fine art, although I hope to pick it up again one day.

In 2004, one of my dear friends gave me a knitting kit for my birthday. I made three scarves with it, all of them using cheap acrylic and plain garter stitch. It was massively boring, and I had no idea there were other yarns and patterns out there.

In April of 2010, the same dear friend invited me to go to DFW Fiber Fest in Addison (the last two have been in Grapevine, but this one was in Addison). She helped me pick out some circular needles and some pumpkin orange yarn so I could make a baby hat. I was hooked. (hahaha – That pun was unintended, but it still amused me.)

Now, I almost always have at least one WIP (work in progress) on the needles. Right now, I have two. I’m working on a Beekeeper’s Quilt and also a Des Marais Shawl. Aren’t they gorgeous? I’m hopeful that I can finish them both before the weather turns cooler.

If anyone reading this has a Ravelry account, my username there is justtamra. Add me! I’d love to snoop around your projects and get some ideas for what I’m going to make next.

Leave a Reply

