Garden Update

I took this picture of our backyard garden this week. It’s a 28 x 18 area that we fenced off to keep the neighbors ‘free range’ rabbits away from.

We’ve planted zucchini, cucumber, watermelon, canteloupe, strawberries, multiple herbs, tomatos, green beans, pumpkins, okra, onions, green peppers, carrots, spinach, sugar snap peas, and corn. The sugar snap peas and spinach have already been harvested and pulled in order to make room for green beans and a second batch of watermelon.

See the corn there in the back right? It’s dying. I think it’s because of two things – a nitrogen diffenciency and our terrible clay soil. The only thing we did to the soil before we started dropping seeds in the ground was till it a few times. I know now that I should have ammended the soil, and worked some compost into it.

We tried to save the corn with a homemade fertilizer mix, some compost, and some extra TLC, but I don’t think it is going to make it. At least we have a better idea what to do next time.

The canteloupe is growing like crazy. It loves our garden. I harvested three yesterday, with at least 30 more on the plants. I’m trying to figure out what to do with it all once we get tired of it. Pickled Canteloupe anyone?

I initally wanted to have a garden, so I could provide my family with cheap organic fruit. It’s become more than a backyard grocery store though – now I find that we are outside in the garden, or in the backyard looking at the garden more often than we are inside. It’s nice, and the kids are starting to learn how much work goes into our food.

I’ve made many mistakes this year, and I’m sure I will make many more mistakes – but I think our garden is something that has become so ingrained in us, that we will take the time to always be growing something.

Leave a Reply

