First year homestead goals

We haven’t even moved yet, but I’ve already made a list of goals for our first year in our new homestead. It’s a fairly long list, and I’m sure I will change it and adapt it depending on the time of year we move and the property we move to. It gives me a good idea of what to expect though.

– Take hunting class with the teens and get our hunting licenses

– Take gun class for my concealed handgun license (the teens do not get to do this one with me. I’m not a big fan of guns, but I know I cannot escape them entirely, and I need to feel comfortable enough around them to protect myself from wild animals if I need to.)

– Look into criteria for AG exemption for land

– think of income generating ideas for land (farmer’s market, pick your own, farm-stay, ect)

– plant fruit and nut trees

– plant annuals (berries and vines)

– plan out acreage

– clear out pond and stock with fish (check to see if state will stock it for free – I heard they might)

– clear out all posion ivy and sumac on property (hubby has to do this, as I am severely allergic to everything in the sumac family – pistachios, cashews, and mangoes included)

-plant cover crop on acreage that’s not in immediate use

– build a coop for the chickens. I’m planning to start with 25 straight run chicks. All but 1 roo will go to freezer camp. That should leave us with enough at least 10 hens, which would supply all of our egg needs, plus an extra dozen a week to give away.

– plan and start our compost piles

– build rabbit hutches. I’m planning to start with three does and a buck. So I will need at least four hutches.

– buy tractor with front loader and other equipment as needed

– Build our dog house

– begin Vermicomposting (composting with worms, more on that later)

– fix and build new fences as needed

– clear land as needed

– make current house livable and/or begin to build a house

– get DH his bees and beekeeper equipment

– establish a good relationship with neighbors.

– rescue and train a good livestock guardian dog

– plan and start to build a good barn

– and of course – plant a garden (1000 sq feet max, our current garden is 450 sq feet and it takes about 30 minutes a day to maintain)

Wow, that sounds like a lot more when it’s written down than it did in my head. I’ve read multiple times in multiples places not to jump into homesteading too quickly, so we’re only going to work on one or two things at a time. I know it’s going to be a lot of work, but work doesn’t scare me nearly as much as idleness does. Of course, it’s easy to say that when I’m sitting on my butt in the air conditioned house. I suppose time will tell.

One thought on “First year homestead goals

Leave a Reply

